Wednesday, April 09, 2008

Raise a Ruckus Dammit!

Here's the info that was sent out today regarding the demonstration at the CBC on Friday.
Tune in, turn up!
For those of you who have no idea what I'm talking about, pick up a newspaper.
And then read it.

April 8, 2008

We are expecting a large and vocal turnout at CBC installations across Canada, in every province where Radio Two is heard and loved. These demonstrations will occur simultaneously at 1200hrs Eastern Time (9am in Vancouver, 1:30pm in St. John’s, etc.). We are inviting all lovers of classical music and public support for the non-commercial arts scene in this country to join with us in calling for the restoration of Radio Two’s vital classical music programming and the reversal of the decision to axe the CBC Radio Orchestra. Let our voices ring out and be heard! We welcome and encourage all members of the print, radio, electronic and television media to cover this important story and join us on this important day for Canada’s classical music community.


The following is a list of local CBC installation addresses across Canada where demonstrations are being planned, including local times and local contact information:

9am Pacific: Victoria: 1025 Pandora Avenue

Contact: Cecilia Porter -

9am Pacific: Vancouver: 775 Cambie Street

Contacts: David Taylor Gill -
Jocelyn Morlock –
John Oliver –
Michael Vincent –
Tanya Battaglia -

10am Mountain: Calgary: 1724 Westmount Blvd. NW

Contact - Andrew Nowry
Darren Young -

10am Mountain: Edmonton: 23 Edmonton City Centre, 10062-102nd Avenue

Contacts - Scott Bursey -
John Brough –
Peter McGillivray

10am Sask: Saskatoon: CBC 144 2nd Ave South
Contacts: Karen Mak
Lorraine McGrath Khachtourians
Brendan McLean -

10am Sask: Regina: 2440 Broad Street

11am Central: Winnipeg: 541 Portage Avenue

Contact: Jonathan Klassen -

12pm Eastern: Toronto: 250 Front Street West

Contacts: James Baldwin
Chris Foley
Kathleen Rudolph
Julia Mah -

12pm Eastern: London, ON: 208 Piccadilly Street
Contact: Forrest Pass -
Durval Cesetti -

12pm Eastern: Ottawa: 181 Queen Street, Ottawa - Meeting at Sparks Street entrance
Contact: James Wooten -
Gary Hayes -

12pm Eastern: Montreal: 1400 Rene Levesque East
Contact-Alexandra Fol -
Emily Gray -
Michael Shannon -

1pm Atlantic: Saint John: 560 Main Street

1pm Atlantic: Halifax: 1601 South Park
Contact: Christian Stalley -
Stephanie Moore -
Janet Brush -

1pm Atlantic: Charlottetown: 430 University Avenue
Contact Kate Huston -

1:30pm Newfoundland: St John's: 25 Henry Street
Contact: Heather Joyce -

Links and Web Resources:
Save Classical Music at the CBC

Save the CBC Radio Orchestra

Vancouver composer, John Oliver's Ad Campaign Site

La Scena Musicale's list of web articles:

Save the CBC Orchestra

Save the CBC

For more general information, please contact Peter McGillivray –

No comments:

Post a Comment